ST. JOSEPH'S COLLEGE (AUTONOMOUS) DEVAGIRI Department of Physical Education Highlights 2019-20

Team Championships

- Volleyball men team won the Calicut University Inter Zone championship and lifted prestigious **Vice Chancellors trophy**
- Football men team finished second in the Calicut University Inter Zone championship.
- Badminton men secured third place in the Calicut University Inter Zone Championship
- women team secured third place in the Calicut University Inter Zone Championship
- Korfball team secured third place in the Calicut University Inter Zone Championship
- Chess women team secured third place in the Calicut University Inter ZoneChampionship
- Basketball men team lifted Calicut University A Zone Championship
- Badminton men team lifted Calicut University A Zone Championship
- Football men team lifted Calicut University A Zone Championship
- Volleyball men team lifted Calicut University A Zone Championships.
- Volleyball men team also lifted All Kerala Inter Collegiate Champions Trophy,organized by Friends Paimbra Club, Kozhikode.
- Basketball women team finished fourth in the Calicut University Inter ZoneChampionship
- Table Tennis men team finished fourth in the Calicut University Inter ZoneChampionship

College Teams' Performance

Position	No. Of Tournaments
Champions	06
Runner up	01
III Position	04
IV Position	02

List of Students Represented Calicut University Teams

Sl. No.	Name	Class	Register Number	Discipline
1	Heera P	III B.Sc Chemistry	DVARSCH015	Chess
2	Megha Roy	I M.Com	DVATMCM015	Chess
3	Swetha k	I B.Com Professional	DVATBCP033	Chess
4	Amrith A Bhaskar	III BCom (F)	DVARBCM041	Shuttle Badminton
5	Govind Krishna	I B.Com Fin	DVATBCM046	Shuttle Badminton
6	John Joseph	II B.Sc Psychology	DVASSPY013	Volleyball
7	Nisam Muhammed	I B.Sc Psychology	DVATSPY030	Volleyball
8	Archana Vijayan	III BA English	DVARAEGR13	Korfball
9	Kasmeera Santhosh	III B A Funct Eng	DVARAFER11	Korfball
10	Priyatha Devadas	III BA English	DVARAEGR34	Korfball
11	Kaasyap Mohan P	II B. Sc Chemistry	DVARSCH016	Korfball
12	Anju Jasmin	I B.Sc Mathematics	Not available	Cricket
13	Akshay S Krishna	III B.Sc Zoology	DVARSZO016	Fencing

Individual Performance

- Heera P of VI sem B.Sc Chemistry has won individual championship in the Calicut University Inter Zone Chess Championship.
- Akshay S Krishna of VI Sem B.Sc Zoology won Gold medal in the Calicut UniversityInter Zone Fencing Championship.
- Anusmaya K of IV Sem BA Functional English bagged bronze medal in the Calicut University Boxing Championship.
- Muhammed Ramees of II Sem B.Sc Psychology represented Kerala Under 19 Cricket team in the South Zone championship.
- Aslam Moidhu (IV SEm Psy) John Joseph (IV Sem Psy), Nisam Muhammed (II Sem Psy) and Alan Joseph (IV Sem BA Eng) were selected to Kerala Junior State team and participated in the Junior National championship.
- Chaitra P of VI Sem BBA bagged silver medal in the Budokn Karate national Championship.

Tournaments and Programs organized

Calicut University A Zone Men Football championship 2019-2020

The Department of Physical Education organized Calicut University A Zone Men Football championship from 9th to 18th October 2019. A total of 28 teams participated in the competition and St. Joseph's college (Autonomous); Devagiri emerged as Champions. Dr. Jose John Mallikassery, Principal, St. Joseph's College Devagiri was the chief guest of Valedictory function and distributed the prizes to the winners.

Calicut University A Zone Men Cricket and Shuttle Badminton championship 2019-2020

The Department of Physical Education organized Calicut University A Zone Men Cricket and Shuttle Badminton championship 2019-2020. Total 27 teams participated in the cricket championship from 21st October 2019 to 31st October 2019. A total of 39 teams participated in the Shuttle Badminton championship and St. Joseph's college (Autonomous); Devagiri emerged as Champions. The championship conducted from 20/11/2019 to 22/11/2019 at GCPE, Calicut. Fr. Anto N J, Vice Principal, St. Joseph's College Devagiri distributed the prizes to the winners.

All Kerala Inter Club Cricket Tournament in association with Devagiri Cricket Alumni 2019 - 2020

The Department of Physical Education is fortunate to organize All Kerala Inter Club Cricket Tournament. It has been conducted in association with Devagiri Cricket Alumni from 04/02/2020 to 16/02/2020. A total of 20 teams participated in this tournament. This year on wards the tournament has named after late college manger Rev. Fr Joseph Paikada CMI. Management has instituted ever rolling trophy also.

FIT India Movement - 2019

Our college celebrated FIT India movement with Mass Run and awareness class on National Sports Day, 29th August 2019. The FIT India Movement aims to encourage people to incorporate fitness activities into their daily lives, promoting a healthier lifestyle for individuals across the country. Dr. Jose John Mallikassery, Principal, St. Joseph's College (Autonomous), Devagiri, Calicut was the guest of honour on this occasion. The awareness class led by Fr. Bony Augustine, HoD, Department of Physical Education, in the topic "Exercise and health.".

Training Programmes

Department is offering various programmes for the overall development of the entire students in the campus. Fitness programme, Football training, Cricket Training, Basketball training for men and women, Yoga Training, Gym based fitness training and aerobics trainingare organised with the help of RUSA Phase II fund.

Awards and honors

Jimmy George Foundation award for Outstanding sports person of the college – Mr John Joseph of II year B.Sc Psychology – member of College Volleyball men team which won Calicut University Championship this year, represented Calicut University team in South Zone and All India Championship and Khelo India championship, represented Kerala team in National Youth Championship.

Kilukkan Varghese award for best sport person of the college – Mr Govind Krishna of I B. Com Finance – Upcoming shuttle badminton player who represented Calicut University in the South Zone and All India Inter University Championship and also represented Kerala team in the Khelo India championship.